New Year, New Theme: 2016

Is it possible that January is almost over? Man, it’s been a month. I have a post about the second 25th and how I celebrated (a day late but not a dollar short) coming soon, but I realized I never posted about my theme for the year, so here it is.

image

These were my goals for 2013. Most of them still apply, so I kept them on my fridge and they’re starting to fade. But take an improv class I achieved, and I’m so glad I did.

You might remember that my friend Stacia and I have a theme for each year, starting back in 2007. You can read all about it here.

This year we enlisted help from our friend Dawn to come up with the phrase for 2016. For some reason it was hard. We’ve long since shifted our focus from dating to just life in general, but this year’s theme–Stay The Course–was a struggle. It’s not catchy, it doesn’t rhyme, to be honest it reminds me of when John Kerry was running for president back in 2004.

But of all our choices, this was the one that seemed most fitting, the most appropriate for each of us in our own life places. Flashy isn’t always functional; this seems like one we can achieve.

image

But that’s not to say it won’t be hard. Staying the course means forging ahead when it might be tempting to turn back. Staying the course means steadily plodding, when you might want to rush into something new headlong or take a pass and sit on the sidelines for a while. And I’m not saying I won’t do plenty of both of those, but staying the course means keeping an eye on your goals and making progress, however incremental, in that direction. If not every day, certainly every week.

This is my plan, the first step of which was signing a new lease. It’s the same place (long story) but I’ll end up saving money on the rent, which I can then put toward possibly improving my situation in the future. I joined a gym and have renewed my focus to exercise more and eat better. And in the meantime, I’ll continue my current project of going through my stuff and getting rid of things I don’t need, don’t use, and that aren’t contributing to my overall forward progress. I threw away one bag and donated another, so that feels pretty good.

It’s going to be tough, but I’m going to try to focus on these goals. And I’ll be staying the course.

Look for my “Second 25th” post soon, and if you’re in the Twin Cities, come out to my first improv show with my new trio, Contraband. We’re performing as part of Improv-A-Go-Go at HUGE Theater on Sunday starting at 8 PM. It’s pay what you want, and they serve beer, so it’s a pretty great date night. We’ll be performing the next three Sundays (Jan. 31, Feb. 7 and Feb. 14) so I hope to see you soon!

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

One response to “New Year, New Theme: 2016”

  1. Michael Turner says :

    I like your continuous resolutions, although I might invert the ‘waste less’ list. I like your theme too – especially since you made a list that carried over to future years. Exercise more seems like a major one for me that always seems to stall (eat healthier too). Yeah, sometimes hard to know when to cut loose and experience life and the world, and when to be patient and tactfully approach a situation after careful consideration. I have heard it is beneficial to have accountability partners, so you are successful there as well. Here’s to a great 2016! Cheers to the years!

Leave a Reply

