NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 29, Eating Crow

Eating crow is an American colloquial idiom, meaning humiliation by admitting wrongness or having been proven wrong after taking a strong position. – Wikipedia

I’m not really eating Crow, in the colloquial or the literal sense*, but I do feel like I’ve been humbled by petering out at the end of the month here. I’ll have one more post tomorrow, and then I’ll resume my regular** posting, but I just wanted to take some time to thank you for following along this month, for commenting (in person and online) about the posts, and for sending encouragement along the way. It really helped me continue, despite my failings at the end. So, thanks!

image

Thursday was a fun gathering of my mom’s side of the family. Crow helped set the table and after dinner, he led us all in a rousing rendition of “Over the River and Through the Woods,” the only Thanksgiving song*** (kind of?) that we could think of. If he joins us at Christmas, I’m sure he’ll have lots of songs in his repertoire.

image

We then played Bingo and a few rounds of cards, because the holidays aren’t the holidays without games!****

image

I let Crow have a glass of wine. He had some great cards.

image image image

I didn’t have very good cards. In fact, it was definitely not my night (I lost by well over 100) but, as we tried to point out to the littles during Thanksgiving Round 2, winning isn’t everything and it should be fun just playing. Some of them had an easier time with that than others.

image

Excited Pilgrim is celebrating a win. Lips Pursed Mrs. Pilgrim is not as thrilled.

Thanksgiving was wonderful, and Round 2 with my dad’s side of the family was really fun. Here’s my sister wrangling most of the littles:

(null) (6)

And here’s the littlest one with my cousin Kim.

IMG_0417

 

He said these were light sabers, and after I showed him my photo from Halloween he had me put coasters against my head and he called me Princess Leia. I’ll take that.

Last post of the month tomorrow!

*Crow was very happy to hear that.

**Aiming for once a week on Thursdays, but…you know.

***Until my cousin’s son, Braden, sang a very fun Thanksgiving song about a turkey that got away and some pilgrims ordering pizza…you had to be there. I also know the song “Timothy Turkey” but it’s kind of depressing.

****At least, as my brother-in-law pointed out, at our house. And really, that’s just any night at our house. We’re a fun bunch.

Tags: , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

3 responses to “NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 29, Eating Crow”

  1. aycroth says :

    Hey Sarah, Thanks for your November posts! Very entertaining to read about you and the duo’s events. I hope you enjoy some extra time this month while you roll back on your posts.

  2. Michael Turner says :

    Nice family post. I like Braden’s song. Jack Handey has a funny bit about his family eating Mr. Gobbles and Pumpkie (his pet pie) for Thanksgiving. I have been eating a lot of humble pie lately (along with some crow), and although it is good for me, I sometimes do not enjoy eating it. Great pictures of the littles – they make things a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

