NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 19, Madame Crowena Returns

DSC02979

It’s been a time of uncertainty in the world, and even though I don’t really believe in horoscopes and psychics, it can be really entertaining, and sometimes comforting, to hear the answers from these external sources. Crow agrees; he enjoys his time as Madame Crowena. He told me “A change is coming,” which I told him was very vague. For me? For the world? In the weather?  He didn’t appreciate me questioning his prediction.

Here are some other messages I got recently:

Dare to dream, hope, believe, seek, feel, find, and love.

Enjoy the small things you find in your path. I do! The other day I found a nickel. 

The greatest patience is humility. I’m not sure what that means, but patience and humility are both virtues.

You will soon gain something you have always wanted. Ooooh, I’m finally going to get that book deal! Or a puppy.

Greed leads to poverty. I think Donald Trump has disproved this. But I see the intention.

You need to control of [sic] your emotions. Keep ’em under wraps! I’ll work on it. Or maybe I won’t. 

A leader is powerful to the degree he empowers others. So true.

Revive the art of conversation. I’m trying. Conversation is a two-way street, though. 

Sweep them off their feet. Working on this one, too. 

Get dressed up with no place to go. This isn’t as much fun as it sounds. At least, not always. I’m not going to say I haven’t done laundry in a bridesmaid dress before, though. 

Buy something frivolous. Buy both.

Kiss and tell. Well…I’m glad no one I’ve kissed has given me chagas disease. 

Hit snooze. Again.

and: A good book is the best of friends, [sic] the same today and forever. And that’s why I want to write books!

Perhaps the best message I got recently, though, was when I re-watched Dead Poets Society:

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute; we read and write poetry because we are members of the human race and the human race is filled with passion. Medicine, law, business, engineering: these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love: these are what we stay alive for.” -Mr. Keating

Agreed.

 

Tags: , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

2 responses to “NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 19, Madame Crowena Returns”

  1. Dad says :

    As you know, quotes are one of my favorites things in life. We should all have a folder of our favorites that we can go to on a regular basis to remind us what we believe in. Thanks Sarah.

    • Sarah in Small Doses says :

      So true. I remember going to your classroom as a little kid and seeing quotes up on your podium. One of my favorites from you/that time was “A true friend never gets in your way unless you’re on the way down.” Memorable.

Leave a Reply

