NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: When Mary Met Sarah

Every year for the holidays my friend Mary and I get together and watch When Harry Met Sally, perhaps the greatest movie of all time.* Truly. Man, Nora Ephron knew dialogue.

When Harry Met Sally

When Harry Met Sally

I met Mary almost five years ago at a birthday party for a mutual friend dubbed “Meat Night” (the party, not the friend), and I liked her instantly. We didn’t really become close, though, until a few months later, when she lived down the street (2 1/2 miles) from me and she used to see me out on walks and pull over to see if I needed a ride. Even though I was out for the exercise, I appreciated the company, so I often accepted and then made up a location for her to drive me. We had great conversations. She has a wonderful laugh and we’re both funny.

Although I don’t see her very often, we always have fun when we’re together, and our annual When Harry Met Sally viewing is one of my favorite holiday traditions. We set an egg timer for a certain amount of time (last night it was 10 minutes; previously we’ve done 8 or 9), and whenever it goes off we have to say what the next line is. Some of them were ridiculously easy; others we had the gist but not the line word for word. And of course, we both quoted the lines we knew, regardless of where we were on the timer. I’m sure it would be obnoxious to other people but that’s why we don’t invite anyone else.

Food

Tom and Crow were there, of course, but they were busy doing their own thing. Those presents really keep them occupied. I hope you have holiday traditions that you look forward to each year. I can’t believe Thanksgiving is next Thursday! Bring on the turkey and MST3K marathon.

 

*Okay, so that might be a stretch, but watch it again. Or for the first time.

Tags: , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

2 responses to “NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: When Mary Met Sarah”

  1. Michael Turner says :

    MST3K marathon – nice. I used to quote lines from Tombstone, Billy Madison, and Scarface a lot. Do you have MST3K the movie? What movie would you have them watch (the MST3K characters)?

    • Sarah in Small Doses says :

      I do have the MST3K movie; it’s one of the ones I watch when I’m feeling under the weather because it always perks me back up. I would have the characters watch a movie I just watched called The Room (2003, not to be confused with last year’s movie, Room). It was terrible. But in a hilarious way. I also would love to see the movie Roar, so having them watch that might be interesting, too. What movie would you have them watch?

Leave a Reply

