NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 14

In honor of surpassing 200, and since Thanksgiving is coming up, I want to recognize a few very special people in this post. A year ago, when I made my costume, I used my friend Meg’s gold duct tape to stabilize Crow’s head. The tape also proved instrumental in making his hands. Meg graciously let me come over and take over her dining room table during crunch time, which also allowed me to introduce her three sons to the robots and MST3K. Her oldest, Danny, took great interest in what I was doing and has become a very special fan.

One Monday, few months after Halloween, I found a bunch of drawings at my desk from my coworkers’ kids,* including these two by Danny:

Tom Servo, by Danny, Age 6

Crow T. Robot, by Danny, age 6

Crow T. Robot, by Danny, age 6

Pretty great, huh? They’ve been up at my desk ever since.

On the back he asked me: “Dear Sarah, How did you make Crow?” and “How did you make Tom Servo?” So, of course, I wrote him back. (How could I not?)**

This year, I made sure to bring my costume over to Danny’s on Halloween so he and his brothers could see the full effect (and because I had again used their house when building my costume. I spray-painted R2D-Tom’s costume and C3P-Crow’s belt in their garage). Danny was possibly more excited than I was about the costume, and he gave Tom and Crow a prominent place at the party. We had a wonderful time.

And yesterday, I found this at my desk.

MST3K, by Danny, age 7

MST3K, by Danny, age 7

Isn’t it amazing? Tom, Crow, Gypsy, and Cam Bot are in the mountains. He’s 7 (!). Thank you, Danny, for the delightful art for my desk at work, and for being such a great fan. Keep drawing!

I want to give a shout out to the people who donated to my fundraising page (Mary, Michael M, Michael T, Michael L (we were very popular with Michaels), Abe, Liv, Erik, and two anonymous donors), and to my brother, who has commented on almost every post. I also want to acknowledge J. E. Lattimer, who has liked almost every post. He has a blog, too, called Fictional Machines. You should check it out.

*The other kid art is pretty great, but not Crow-related. I also had a post-it from my friend, Mandrew, of Mandrew’s Blissenblog. His writing is definitely worth a look.

**Also, I’m a huge fan of correspondence, so chances are, if you write to me, I will write back to you.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

2 responses to “NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 14”

  1. Michael Turner says :

    Nice drawings by Danny (especially the mountain one with the whole gang). It is always nice to show a young interested fan a glimpse of the behind-the-scenes work. How did the improv-athon go? Did you ever see the SNL skit where they are an improv team and forced to become lathe operators?

    • Sarah in Small Doses says :

      I will let him know! I thought he did a really nice job, too. Improv-athon went really well, thanks! And thanks for your donation. Actual thank-you note forthcoming. I didn’t see that SNL skit, but I’ll have to check it out. Did you know the last name Turner means a carpenter who works on a lathe?

Leave a Reply

