NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 12, One Man Crow

Improv-athon is here, and if you’re reading this, that means One Man Show, my new improv team, has already performed. You probably missed it (which is okay) and I’m (hopefully) sleeping right now, but it went really, really well. It was kind of a dream come true. And I hope to have more shows to report soon!

There is still time to donate at https://givemn.org/fundraiser/one-man-show-fundraising-for-huge-improv-theater56352c508d140

I know it’s the time of year when everyone’s asking for money, especially on Give to the Max day, but I hope that you pick some organization, one that’s dear to you, and send them your monetary support.* Okay, I’m done.

Tuesday afternoon I had an eye doctor appointment, so I brought Crow with me because he’s never had his eyes checked (and Tom got to come last year). Crow was pretty patient** when we sat in the waiting room.  He was bundled up because the weather was kind of chilly, and because he gets shy sometimes out in public.

Crow T. Robot: Eye Patient

Crow T. Robot: Eye Patient

Dr. Snyder said he was somewhat concerned because Crow’s eyes are a little yellow, but I explained that they’re always like that, so no need to send him for a jaundice test or to check his liver function. He looks pretty good with my glasses, though.

Crow T. Robot: Glasses Wearer?

Crow T. Robot: Glasses Wearer?

My eyes had no significant change (yay!) and as always, Dr. Snyder answered all of my questions (including the weird ones–see below). I cannot say enough about how much I appreciate being a patient at Highland Family Eye.***

At the end of the appointment, Dr. Snyder asked me if I had any questions. Seeing an opportunity, I asked him if there has ever been an eye he’s looked into and thought, That is one amazing looking eye, and he said, “Not really,” but he said he does like looking into people’s irises every time because they look cool under magnification. Dr. Snyder said the eye is the only place on the human body where you can look at small blood vessels up close, and it’s the only place where you can get a glimpse of the central nervous system. I said, “So you basically look at people’s brains all day,” and he said, “Kind of.” Pretty neat.

Where will I take Crow next? What’s Tom Servo been up to? These and other questions will be answered in future posts. So stay tuned…

*Of course, I also hope that you consider giving $10 to my fundraising page for HUGE Theater, but I know times are tough and money is tight for a lot of people, so I understand completely if it doesn’t work. Some ways you can support for free/cheap: keep reading this blog! go to a free (or pay-what-you-can) reading or show, send encouragement via comments and messages, etc. Every little bit helps!

**Get it?

***Yes, that was free advertising for them, but I really do think they’re great.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

