NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 8

It’s been a very artsy weekend for me and the bots. Today I participated in another reading, this time in connection with the St. Paul Almanac and Cracked Walnut, a literary reading series started by a friend of mine from graduate school. The reading went well (although it’s usually at these types of events that someone tells me afterward that they liked my “poem”*), and I had a delicious bacon, egg, and cheese slider at the venue**  before heading to the Cathedral of St. Paul and Summit Avenue.

I didn’t bring Crow; he’s in need of some TLC (more on that in a later post) and I wanted to spend some time with a different yellow bird.

A few weeks ago I posted about Birds in Art and how they gave us rubber duckies to take around and pose in different locations. I haven’t done a very good job of this (mostly because I’ve been taking photos of Crow), but we snapped some photos today. There was a tour of Summit Avenue that I had hoped to join, but it was fairly windy and the tour was supposed to take 2 1/2 hours, so I decided to walk around by myself.

The day ended up being pretty perfect. The wind died down, so the tour probably would have been fine (normally I enjoy activities like that), but it can also be nice to explore and go at your own pace. I took a gangster tour of St. Paul a few years ago, which was very interesting, so I would definitely jump on it if they offer this Summit tour again.

(null) (2)

#birdsinartducky #CathedralofStPaul

(null) (4) (null) (3)

Our first stop was the Cathedral of St. Paul. It was hard to get a good shot initially, since the wind prevented me from posing Ducky very easily, but I do love the heavenly glow in the middle shot. It was also nice to get some shots of the church where my grandmother took her first communion.

Then we crossed the street and walked past the James J. Hill House. I had my first date with my first boyfriend here, a long long time ago. Ah, memories. We didn’t go in, but I did capture this picture.

 

#birdsinartducky #JamesJHillHouse #stpaul

#birdsinartducky #JamesJHillHouse #stpaul

I love the face made by the two porches on the left. Can you see it?

We then walked up to some of the other mansions along Summit.

Adirondack Chairs!

Adirondack Chairs!

Even the wealthy like Adirondack Chairs in Pairs.

Our next stop was a little park on the north side of Summit. Neighborhood children previously used the area as a playground, before it was donated to the city. There’s a beautiful fountain in the middle:

downsized_Image110820151412031

#birdsinartducky #fountain #artinparks

and a nice view of the Commodore, which is a former hangout of F. Scott Fitzgerald, as well as gangsters like Ma Barker and John Dillinger. (I learned that on my gangster tour.)

Image110820151411151

Ducky got excited because he thought this said “Condor” initially, and he believes birds need to stick together (of a feather or not).

We took one more shot of the Cathedral:

Image110820151425251

before snapping a picture in front of the capitol building.

Image110820151430561

It’s under construction, so it doesn’t have the same beautiful facade it normally does, but there you go. I also pointed out to Ducky my office, which is behind the capitol, but we didn’t take a picture.

Art (of all kinds) is really important to me, but it should be important to everyone. Without music, drawings, paintings, sculpture, ceramics, photography, dance, storytelling, performance, film, writing, theater, other arts, and yes,*** improv, think of how boring and plain the world would be.

There’s still time to see Birds in Art, which is at the Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum in Wausau, WI. The installation runs until November 29. And you can see me in an improv show this Thursday at HUGE theater…at 1:30 a.m. I know, it’s really early (or late, if you’re me), but one thing you can do if you can’t come is donate. I’m performing as part of Improv-athon, a fundraiser for HUGE, which is a non-profit theater that provides inexpensive classes and performances every night of the week. Check back here or on my Facebook page for more information.

*I do have some essays that veer to the poetry side of writing, but it’s a little bit irksome to have people refer to all writing as poetry. But maybe that’s my own bias. After all, I do appreciate poetic prose. And poems. I’m not sure why this distinction matters to me, but it does. Maybe because CNF is still fairly new and not very well understood. Or maybe because the genre is so varied it’s hard to explain, but the term “poetry” gives you a clearer idea of what that type of writing is.

**Claddagh Coffee on W. 7th Street in St. Paul. $4.04 with tax for a delicious breakfast slider–you can’t beat that! It’s a great venue.

***Or “yes, and”?

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

2 responses to “NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 8”

  1. Michael Turner says :

    Nice post. I like the pictures of the cathedral. I did see the porch house face. I did not realize John Dillinger stayed at the Commodore. Mickey’s on W 7th or downtown St. Paul was a nice place (trolley car look?) for a greasy hot plate. Have fun at improv-athon 🙂

    • Sarah in Small Doses says :

      Thank you, Michael! Mickey’s (which should be Mikey’s, right?) is a nice place for a greasy hot plate. I’m glad you were able to spot the porch face. That would be a terrible nickname. I’ll let you know how improv-athon goes!

Leave a Reply

