The Future is Now

For those of you not online much (or living under a rock, or working on an advanced degree, which is like living under a rock), Wednesday was Back to the Future Day. Or, really, the day in the future Marty McFly went to in Back to the Future II (which, I’d like to point out, is the only movie that makes no sense in the franchise*: Marty McFly has never been to 2015, so he’s going to the future for the first time and needs to (wait for it) get back to the past, where he came from, 1985. But I digress).

Pepsi released a limited edition Pepsi Perfect,** Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd made the rounds on various TV shows, and it’s rumored Nike is working on self-lacing shoes.

And, about ten minutes after I woke up, I decided to dress like Marty McFly. I had the red vest and denim jacket in my coat closet; I dug in the back of my bedroom closet for the checkered shirt (I had gotten it a long time ago but never wear it), and the rest is the past history.

IMG_0279

Unfortunately, most of the people in my department were out in the morning and the people who saw me walk in didn’t seem to recognize who I was trying to be. When I went to grab lunch out of the office, I stopped in the office of a coworker and said, “I’m going for lunch, but I’ll be back…in the future…” Her response was okay. I mean, her response was, “Okay.” A few people probably would have recognized me if I didn’t point it out in advance, but I’m okay with that. Facebook gave me plenty of kudos.

And I went to trivia that evening, which had a BTTF*** theme, so I fit right in. We bounced around a team name, like “McFly in the Ointment” or “Biff, Please” or, my favorite, “Resting Biff Face,”**** but we settled on “Biff Better Have My Money.” We took third place.

Dressing like Marty McFly made me excited for my costume this year. I’ve already told some people about it, but you’ll just have to wait to see the photos. I’ll post more progress next week. Speaking of photos, I got one Adirondack share, from my friend Pam. Thanks, Pam! I welcome any and all photos.

Speaking of sharing photos, I went to Birds in Art at the Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Gallery this past weekend with my mom. They had a painting by David Milton called “Homage to the World’s Largest Rubber Duck,” and, in what they’re calling an homage to the homage, they’re having people take mini rubber duckies and photograph them all over. So here are mine (so far).

Duck Duck...don't start. This rubber ducky made it to Minnesota!

Duck Duck…don’t start. This rubber ducky made it to Minnesota!

This statue is in the park near work where I eat lunch most days. It is such a weird statue and it makes me laugh every time.

This statue is in the park near work where I eat lunch most days. It is such a weird statue and it makes me laugh every time.

Just a couple of birds in art...this one gave Ducky a complex.

Just a couple of birds in art…this one gave Ducky a complex.

Lastly, I’m soliciting suggestions for “Crow-vember,” so if there’s something you’d like me to have Crow do, send me an email or post in the comments. I need all the help I can get!

Happy Friday, everyone! The future is now.

*Yes, the other movies do make sense. He has to go Back to the Future…where he’s from, in relation to 1955 and 1885, respectively.

**Which turned out not so perfect: they sold out before the actual date they were supposed to go on sale. Whoops!

***Back to the Future. Duh.

****Which should really be Biffy Resting Face, but whatever.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

3 responses to “The Future is Now”

  1. Michael Turner says :

    I thought the Cubs would win the World Series this year in order to add some intrigue to the BTTF 2015 world. Lol on the trivia team names and the weird statue (hooray for catching fish!). I will try to think of things that Crow should do. Nice post.

    • Sarah in Small Doses says :

      I was hoping the Cubs would win as well, not just for the BTTF intrigue. Thanks for the comments on the trivia names. The statue is even weirder in full; the raccoon is sitting on top of what looks like a bongo drum. So strange. Let me know if you come up with anything for Crow. I have a few ideas but I need all the help I can get. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. NaBloPoWriMo Crow-vember: Day 8 | Sarah in Small Doses - November 8, 2015

Leave a Reply

