Hey Dudes

You probably noticed it’s been quiet over here; I’m very sorry about that. I’ve been writing. And not writing. And not not writing. In part I’ve been working on the book, which feels so close to being done and so impossibly far from it as well. In the past month and a half I have often sat down to write and the words don’t come. And the stupid part is some of the work that is left isn’t even writing or revising. It’s boring stuff like adding page numbers and hyperlinks (for the choices), which doesn’t take much in the way of creative energy. But it just isn’t happening, which is really frustrating.

What also contributed to my absence from this blog was a literal absence: I took a vacation to a dude ranch (a la Hey Dude) with my travel buddy, Sara, at the end of August, so there was a lot of planning beforehand and catching up on things afterward. I’ve had 4 of 6 posts published about our adventures. Start here, then go here, then here, and finally, here. I’ll link more on this site as they’re published. The live-chatting bad movies is still going strong on Tuesday nights. You can “Like” our Facebook page to get updates and the weekly link to the chat session. Here’s a recent one that cracked me up. It’s a really fun weekly gig that I hope you’ll join in sometime. Tonight’s movie is Masters of the Universe, and the link to the live-chat should post around 4 PM on BitterEmpire.com. Look for the Bitter Critic subcategory.

And I’ve started doing improv again. It was a long break, but it feels like a good time to get back into it, so I’m hoping that will inspire some funny posts. I’m working on forming a couple of teams to perform with and have found a regular practice time with some other improvisors, which will help. I’ve got some ideas for other creative projects (and of course a Halloween costume!) so I plan to be more present here in the coming weeks. I have honestly missed you.

Other things:

Some ducks appear to be moving in nearby. There goes the neighborhood.

Ducks!

I went to the grocery store to try to buy tortilla chips, but Tostitos has me all confused. Are these bite size or party size? Which is it??

 

Which is it?

Which is it?

I’ve been working on a group project at my job and the leader of the group misspelled my name in emails twice in less than 24 hours. There are seven Sara(h)s at work and only two of them spell it without an “h.” In fact, there are three Sarahs in our group and we all spell it with an “h.” Sigh. At least one of the times this person collectively spelled our name wrong, so I guess I shouldn’t feel too bad. But seriously.

More and more I feel like this quote from Dianne Wiest in The Birdcage applies:

tumblr_lp6gqqImyi1qakh43o1_500

And my can of sparkling water would like you to know it is completely blameless.

La Croix

Methinks the can doth protest too much. J’accuse, La Croix! J’accuse!

I hope your September is off to a productive start and your days retain the warmth of summer (without the humidity) while displaying the beauty of fall.

Tags: , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

