On Creativity

My friend and fellow blogger, Rachel, nominated me for a Creative Blogger Award, which is very kind, since I often don’t feel very creative and instead imagine myself as smooshing things together to approximate a post like a small child gluing scraps onto a piece of cardboard and calling it a diorama. Which, I guess, is creative.  If you haven’t checked out Rachel’s blog, Fellow Passengers, you should because she is tackling big and small things, such as faith, writing, and parenting twin toddlers and a preschooler. Every post makes me feel good. So, thank you, Rachel for this award!

Her nomination got me thinking about creativity and its many forms. If necessity is the mother of invention, then creativity is the fun aunt or doofus uncle or someone who buys you the toys you probably shouldn’t have but totally love, like a full-sized drum kit or a seed bead loom or a set of messy oil pastels, and who tells you about his or her adventures in the world that exists outside your suburban home and then gets you all hopped up on ice cream and…where was I going with this? Oh, yeah.

Creativity. Imagination.  Thinking outside the box. My creative side struggles against my “follows the rules” side, so prompts definitely help me out. I know I didn’t post here last week, and I haven’t been doing the writing I want, but I have been creative. I painted a bunch of onesies recently, for various friends who are having or have had babies (see photos), and, just like with writing, even though it’s fun to start with a blank page (or shirt-front) it’s been helpful to have a template or general idea and then go from there.

DSC03351 DSC03352 DSC03353 DSC03354 DSC03356 DSC03360 DSC03361 DSC03363 DSC03364

I’m thinking of opening an Etsy shop for custom onesies. I’m pretty proud of that corn, but this one’s my masterpiece:

DSC03362

And I’ve been live-blogging. Oh, and the robots are still here. They got into a terrible movie we watched recently, called Vikingdom. They also got into my aluminum foil.

DSC03358

I guess I have been creative.

As I said, I’m kind of a rule-follower, so here are the rules of the award:

  1. Thank the nominee. (Thanks, Rachel!)
  2. Share five facts about myself.
  3. Nominate other blogs and notify them.
  4. Tell the nominees these rules.

I don’t know that there are many things you don’t know about me, but here are five facts:

1. I have crooked pinkies. Like, really crooked. No, seriously, like “solid 25º angle from straight” crooked.

2. I sometimes often prefer to do things the old fashioned way. I don’t currently have a smartphone. We’ll see how long that lasts.

3. I ever officially broke up with my fifth grade boyfriend. Then again, we never really went out. He asked me to go out with him the last day of school and I didn’t see him again until the first day of sixth grade. So…

4. I’m mildly afraid of the dark. I think it’s because I can’t see very well.

5. My next book will be fiction! It’s exciting and terrifying at the same time.

I’m nominating the following blogs for Creativity (in no particular order):

1. Laura is a friend of mine from graduate school. She previously titled her blog “The Diet Diaries,” blogging about helping her son’s autism through diet, but she’s re-named it “All in Awe,” which is appropriate, because I am often left in awe of her. She gets up way earlier than I do in order to cook breakfast, lunch, and snacks for her son (they’re on a very restrictive diet) and then works all day, blogs, and still finds time to hang out with her kids, write, and occasionally socialize. Awe is right.

2. MANDREW’s Blissenblog is a shot of testosterone that will give you the meat sweats and a hangover, which is funny because he’s a vegetarian. He’s got a multi-part post in which his wife drops him off in the middle of nowhere and leaves him to find his own way home. Seriously. He’s another friend from grad school and I now work with his wife, so we’re doubly connected. Woo hoo!

3. If you love literature and intersections between literature and life, check out That Girl Who Reads BooksShe’s made it a mission to read every book she owns. For real. And she always makes these wonderful (but random) connections between the book she’s reading and her life. They’re beautiful and thought-provoking, and the last five onesies were for her. She’s honest and vulnerable and I love her.

4. My friend Spud writes mostly jokes, sometimes more, and although he hasn’t posted in a little while, he makes these ambigrams and venn diagrams that are amazing. He’s probably the most versatilely* creative person I know.

5. C Lee Tressel is a former roommate, classmate, continuing cheerleader, hero and friend. She started went through our grad program in fiction, but she writes pretty amazing non-fiction, too, the kind that I’m constantly wishing I could have written. The first five onesies were for her, in her new role as mother, but she writes about sports, marrying into a family farm, and life and somehow makes it all fit.

So those are my nominees! Check out their blogs. You won’t be disappointed.

*That’s totally a word.

 

Tags: , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

2 responses to “On Creativity”

  1. Michael Turner says :

    Has anyone thought about doing a ‘World’s Greatest Child!’ infant or toddler shirt? (You know, like the ‘World’s Greatest Dad!’ shirts that many dads receive from their kids). Would this create some psychological issues later in a child’s life? Just a thought. The shirt would probably look awkward when a child was throwing a tantrum and wearing it. Nice post 🙂

Leave a Reply

