Tuesday Night Movie Club

I mentioned in my last post that I’ve started live-blogging bad movies with my friend, Sam, but I wanted to give you more details so you can tune in. It’s like MST3K,* the live version! For real, though, you should check it out. How it works: we watch a good-bad movie that’s currently on Netflix streaming, and you can watch along while we make live commentary. Go to Bitter Critic before 9 PM on Tuesday to find the live blog and see the week’s movie choice, then grab a snack and pull up the movie on Netflix streaming. Have the live blog up on your mobile device, laptop or tablet and the comments should load as we go.

I love movies. photo credit: filmheart via photopin (license)

I love movies. photo credit: filmheart via photopin (license)

Here are links to the past three movies: The Curse of the Dragon Slayer, Dredd, and In the Name of the King. I think they hold up even if you don’t watch the movie. Or you can always push play and scroll through on your own time. I think it’s going to be a regular Tuesday night thing**, 9(ish) PM Central time, and it makes a great date night, curl-up-on-the-couch-because-it’s-cold activity, or just a nice change from the usual. Also, the last few times when we’ve done it weird things have happened in my personal life, which I inject into the live commentary, so it’s really like an up-to-the-minute small dose of me. You can go back to binge-watching “Friends” on Wednesday.***

We didn’t have one this week because of conflicts, so don’t worry, you didn’t miss one. I’ll try to remember to post the link here and on Facebook so you can find it, but next week’s movie is Automata, starring Antonio Banderas. Show time will be next Tuesday, February 17 at 9 PM Central. Go to Bitter Critic a little early for more details.

Okay, now that I’ve given that shameless plug, I’ll give you the short version of this year’s Valentine post.

I’ve given love to singles, and the special kids in my life, but this year I want to give special Valentine’s love to my family and close friends. I try to put my best self out there on this blog (at least, usually) and it’s easy to pretend I’m a happy-go-lucky, positive person who is easygoing and easy to get a long with, but that’s not always true, especially lately. When I get stressed, which has been pretty much all of 2015, I get crabby and short with people. I haven’t been sleeping well since, well, since last November when I got a new project at work that has been causing me a lot of stress and anxiety, and it’s spilled over into my interactions with people more than I’d like.**** I’m so so so tired – so bone-achingly, my-eyes-are-burning tired that I find myself having a short fuse. I’m usually able to control it with people at work or those I don’t know very well, but with those closest to me, I take advantage of the fact that they like me and sometimes test the limits of these relationships.

So, I just wanted to say Thank You to all of you for your patience with me the past few months. For your encouragement, for your support, for your love – Thank You. You guys are all my valentines. Love you!

photo credit: Puppy via photopin (license)

photo credit: Puppy via photopin (license)

*It has not been endorsed by the Mystery Science Theater 3000 people, nor is it affiliated with them in any way. But, I do love them.

**Crow and I wanted to call it Tuesday Night Movie Club (because Sheryl Crow), but it’s called Cinéma Atroce on Bitter Critic (of Bitter Empire). Look for me to have other writing there soon!

***At least, that’s what I’ll be doing.

****I’d like it if stress never affected my interactions with other people, but unfortunately I am a human being and not an unfeeling robot/cyborg/android, so I feel the range of emotions. It’s useful in improv (where I’ve actually been told multiple times that I need to play angrier) but it’s not always great in life. I’m a work in progress.

Tags: , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

