The Blizzard That Was January

Hello! It’s been a while. Lots of things have happened in the past month; I’m so sorry I haven’t written about them. Even though we didn’t have much snow, I was in a flurry of activity. But I’ve missed you.

Shortly after my last post, I went to the Governor’s Ball. It was really fun and I got to wear a ball gown/bridesmaid dress from seven years ago – and it still fit! More important, however, was the fact that because I went to the Governor’s Ball I did not go to my parents’ house for the weekend, which ended up saving my life because the next time I drove, my brakes started failing. Unfortunately, I was on my way to work (and not, you know, on a cushiony path with no other cars around), but luckily, there’s an auto care place right by where I work, and I managed to make it there before the brakes failed completely.

Sadly, the brake repair would cost more than I’m willing to spend, and it’s time for me to say goodbye to my little Toyota. I’ll probably have a post about that coming soon, but here’s one last shot from when she hit 160,000 on the odometer this past November.

Don't worry, I had pulled over to a safe location to take this photo. Otherwise it'd be 10 and 2 and eyes on the road.

Don’t worry, I had pulled over to a safe location to take this photo. Otherwise it’d be 10 and 2 and eyes on the road.

The brake issue happened the same day I was trying to get 32,000 ballots printed to be sent out for work, and one of the people printing them told me he had to throw away 4,000 ballots. Needless to say, it was not my best day.

The week after that was much better, because I was on vacation!  My friend Sara (of Peru and other adventures) and I went to the Cayman Islands for a week with her parents (they have a time share there). I read four books and got a nice tan. I didn’t do any work, though, so no blog posting (sorry). We saw sharks and sting rays in their natural habitat, along with iguanas, starfish, and lots of brightly colored fish. Sara and I went sea kayaking at night to see the bioluminescence. Although it wasn’t as bright as I thought it would be, we did get to see disco shrimp, which light up as a warning. They might be my new favorite animal. It was a great trip, and I had a hard time coming back.

The view from our time share.

The view from our time share.

But I did come back, and I had a lot of things to catch up on. Namely, my car, which is finally being taken to a salvage yard today. It’s bittersweet. I’m sad that she’s no longer drivable, but it makes me feel better that someone else isn’t driving her either because if I had sold her before now I’d always wonder if she could have lasted longer. (Yes, she’s a she; her name is Pegala.)

The ballots got stuffed and sent, and there don’t appear to have been too many issues. My coworker made me my own box of cupcakes as a reward for being done. I made it a year at my job and celebrated by sending my coworkers cookies while I was away. (It seemed only fair since I was on vacation on the actual day, and they were helping with the ballots while I was gone.)

My bathroom flooded the Tuesday after I returned, so I was without a toilet overnight. Thankfully, that seems to be resolved, but it wasn’t exactly the welcome back I hoped for. Especially since Tom Servo and Crow didn’t seem to miss me that much.

Speaking of which, the biggest thing that’s happened in the new year is that I’ve started live-blogging bad movies a la MST3K. It’s really fun and I’ll post more about it on Thursday, but look for more related posts to come (with links!). And some guest posts.

I know this isn’t my usual day to post, but I wanted to have something up as soon as possible. And I should have another one on Thursday, plus additional ones next week. So, check back again soon!

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

