So This Was Christmas (Part 1)

I certainly had fun, near and dear ones, and I got to see special people, old and young.* Very Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year!

Here’s what I’ve done (including some events from earlier in December):

I did lots of holiday baking. My friend Charlie hosted a cookie swap (everyone brings a recipe they make and at the end we each have an assortment).

Wreaths or Christmas Wrath?

Wreaths or Christmas Wrath?

 

Some recipes fared better than others. But at the end, everything looked (and tasted) great!

These are Reindeer Cookies. They are surprisingly difficult to make.

These are Reindeer Cookies. They are surprisingly difficult to make.

Here are the end results. Everything was delicious.

Here are the end results. See! The wreaths turned out great. Everything was delicious.

My parents came up for an evening of baking with my sister and brother-in-law.

The baking elves.

The baking elves.

Libs and I had a fudge-off. I think everyone won.

Libs and I had a fudge-off. I think everyone won.

It was wonderful, we had so much fun and everything was delicious, but it reminded me how small my kitchen really is.

It really is that small.

It really is that small.

In addition to the baking, I made homemade kahlua. I feel like I may have messed up the recipe, but at least the bottles look nice.

Homemade kahlua, hand-drawn bottles. Pinterested?

Homemade kahlua, hand-drawn bottles. Pinterested?

I made a new (double) batch, so hopefully that turns out okay.

For Hanukkah, I made a menorah out of Diet Coke for my coworker.

He drank one bottle each of the days instead of lighting a candle. Much less of a fire hazard in an office full of paper.

He drank one bottle each of the days instead of lighting a candle. Much lower fire hazard in an office full of paper.

He loved it; I was especially proud that it was kosher.**

Big Man on Campus! I just have to brag a little and tell you that he graduated with honors. Woo-hoo!

Big Man on Campus! I just have to brag a little and tell you that he graduated with honors. Woo-hoo!

My brother graduated! It was so exciting. And he ended up on the big screen with a quote!

 

Michaels Quote

Way to go, Michael!

That night I helped decorate the family tree. We’ve amassed a lot of ornaments over the years, but here are some classics.

My mom made this. Isnt it cute?

My mom made this. Isn’t it great?

 

Even my ornaments arent spelled correctly.

Even my ornaments aren’t spelled correctly.

And this is what happens when you’re the only kid decorating.

Dont worry, I put my siblings stars up, too. Just lower, and not in the front...

Don’t worry, I put my siblings’ stars up, too. Just lower, and not in the front…

Our family started an annual Christmas nok hockey tournament last year, with a traveling trophy. Sadly, I only won one game this year (and, in another game, I scored on myself) BUT in that one win I beat the only person who beat this year’s champion, and she also beat last year’s champion. So, I feel like I won by proxy. I lost another game we played, Ticket to Ride, by 1 point (!), and Yahtzee was a bust, so I’m holding on to that nok hockey win.

Other Christmas-related things: I memorized the words to Sleigh Ride,” my current favorite Christmas song. I tried to take a photo with Crow and Tom Servo but they all ended up terrible. I got a lot of nice gifts, but one of the coolest and most unique was the traveling license plate game my sister and brother-in-law made. And Tom Servo got a Santa hat.

Crow T. Robot and Tom Servo wish you a Merry Christmas!

Crow T. Robot and Tom Servo wish you a Merry Christmas!

Me, too! And a Happy New Year!

Me, too! And a Happy New Year!

 

And I was published on the Brevity blog, which was a thrill. If you haven’t had a chance to vote, you still have time. The contest runs through today, and all you need to do is click on the link and where the stars are, click on the number of stars (1-5) you feel the essay deserves. Thank you so much! I’ll have more about Christmas soon. And a New Year’s (new theme) post is forthcoming as well. Goodbye, 2014!

*I loosely followed the lyrics to “So This is Christmas” by John Lennon for this post, and I’m proud that I managed to get “yellow and red ones” in here with Crow and Tom Servo. Okay, Crow’s gold, but you get the picture.

**It’s kosher, according to Wikipedia, because the middle (9th) “candle” is taller (or shorter) than the other eight. Learn something new every day!

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

