NaBloPoWriMo Servo: Day 12

Tom Servo: Car Scraper. I didn't have the heart to tell him that's a leg warmer on his head.

Tom Servo: Car Scraper. I didn’t have the heart to tell him that’s a leg warmer on his head.

This was a better, more functional look. And it mostly matches! The hat is from Peru.

This was a better, more functional look. And it mostly matches his coloring! The hat is from Peru.

In honor of Veterans Day, and because he helped me clean off my car (kind of), I let Tom Servo pick out a war movie to watch. I generally don’t like them (So much shooting! So little plot!), but Black Hawk Down has been on my list, mostly because it’s on Netflix streaming, but also because it’s based on true events and has been highly recommended. When I told Tom Servo that Tom Sizemore is in it,♥ he perked up. But, really, everyone is in this movie. Including local celebrity, Josh Hartnett, and the guy who plays Joe on When Harry Met Sally. And also Ewan MacGregor, Sam Sheppard, Eric Bana, Jeremy Piven, Orlando Bloom in one of his first roles, William Fitchner, Ron Eldard, and a bunch of people you’d recognize from other stuff (the guy who plays Smalls in The Sandlot, the guy who plays Mr. Fantastic in The Fantastic Four, the guy who plays Phil on Modern Family, that guy from House of Cards, etc.).

Tom Servo didn’t know what to do with all those A-listers, let alone a blockbuster movie. I told him he didn’t have to make funny/snarky comments all the time; he could just sit and watch the movie, maybe work on his knitting. So he did.

During breaks from the movie, we looked up the difference between a beak and a bill, at the request of my brother and for which I made this awesome Venn diagram. (It is Vennsday after all.)

Beak v. Bill Venn Diagram. I borrowed the content info from http://theboard.byu.edu/questions/75204/

Beak v. Bill Venn Diagram. I borrowed the content info from http://theboard.byu.edu/questions/75204/

According to the Oxford English Dictionary (OED; as quoted by a couple of sources), beak is the general term used in ornithology to refer to a bird’s mouth/nose area. Beak is also used almost exclusively when talking about birds of prey (hawks, etc.) and when describing a bird as pecking or striking (woodpeckers). Either term is used in ordinary language for crows, finches, sparrows, “perching birds,” and songsters, but bill is used more often (I disagree), and bill is used almost exclusively for hummingbirds, pigeons, waders, and web-footed birds. I agree about the last two; not sure on the first.

I also drew this:

Bill, Beak, Beaker

Bill, Beak, Beaker

I hope that clears things up. I also looked up the difference between tonic water, mineral water, club soda, sparkling water, soda water, and seltzer. Tune in on Friday to find out the fizzy results!

♥Another Tom S.!

*Would Cardinals be considered Birds of Pray?

**Except Crow T. Robot. His is more of a pin. Or a snout.

***As opposed to birds that waddle, roost, nest, dunk, dribble, or hunch. You’re so perchy!

****I checked multiple sources and this is apparently correct; I’ve never thought of pigeons has having bills (over beaks). But, whatever the OED says…

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

2 responses to “NaBloPoWriMo Servo: Day 12”

  1. aycroth says :

    Interesting article about the beaks vs. bills debate! I personally support the former, beak cause; there’s nothing worse then letting water foul (out o’ yer sights.) They must got a nose that’ll smell ya’ from a mile ‘r way. That aboot done did me in. By golly goulashes galore.

Leave a Reply

