NaBloPoWriMo Servo: Day 2

Yesterday was a big day for Tom Servo and his buddy, Crow T. Robot. We had two parties to attend and our group costume wasn’t close to being finished. The box had been constructed, but not painted, and the suspenders didn’t fit around the dowels, plus it looked very boxy. Tom was pretty much ready to go, but Crow…needed work. Luckily, I have a smart mom and a very creative and crafty brother-in-law. When I called my mom for advice, saying that I wished I had been able to work on it with my b-i-l, she said, “I have a simple solution for you. Call Matthew.” So I did.

So I had a little trouble with my box/seats. But I woke up this morning with the answer.  Stay tuned...

It was a little further along than this, but the inside looked like that. 

Matthew drilled a hole through the body of Crow while Libby and I reinforced and spray-painted the box. He slipped a sturdier dowel through Crow’s neck and body to give it more stability and helped me finish the arms. Matthew glued Tom Servo together and added twisties for extra support. He gave suggestions on how to finish the box with paper and make posts for the robots to rest on (so I can use the box–and the bots–for other things). He even solved the suspender problem by wrapping fabric around the dowels and clipping the suspenders to the fabric–genius! This costume was a huge hit and my sister and brother-in-law were a huge help in making it possible.

My sister and brother-in-law after I took over their apartment and started using all of their tools, doodads, and creativity. They were very generous.

My sister and brother-in-law after I took over their apartment and started using all of their tools, doodads, and creativity. They were very generous.

An unarmed Crow T. Robot with a stiff neck.

An unarmed Crow T. Robot with a stiff neck.

Putting the box seats together.

Putting the box seats together.

The robots in all their glory, pre-box.

The robots in all their glory, pre-box.

The robots and the construction crew, minus Libby (who took this photo).

The robots and the Saturday afternoon construction crew, minus Libby (who took this photo).

I didn’t take a lot of pictures at the party, but I ran into a meta-penguin friend of mine, Danny, and had a great time.

Off to parties we go!

Off to parties we go!

Ta-da! MST3K: The Costume! Here's how it all turned out.

Ta-da! MST3K: The Costume! Here’s how it all turned out. The stickers are courtesy of another partygoer, Buzzfeed, who categorized my costume “Trending” “LOL” “OMG” “FTW” “cute” “useful” and “trashy” (because I explained that a couple of parts came from the trash). 

My friend Danny. It's hard to tell, but he's wearing a penguin shirt under a pretty sweet penguin costume.

My friend Danny. It’s hard to tell, but he’s wearing a penguin shirt under a pretty sweet penguin costume.

Tom Servo had a great time, too, because this is how he woke up…party animal.

Tom Servo, Party Animal. Someone had a little too much fun with the Halloween candy.

Tom Servo, Party Animal. Someone had a little too much fun with the Halloween candy.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

