NaBloPoWriMo Servo: Day 1

It’s National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), but it’s apparently also National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo). The purpose of the former is to write a novel (or at least write 50,000 words) in the month of November; the purpose of latter* is to get people to post something to their blog every day. I can’t do the first one because I’m neck deep in a book already and I HAVE TO finish it, but I had so much fun taking Tom Servo around the past couple of days, that I decided to do NaBloPoWriMo Servo: the Tom Servo edition.

The premise is simple: each day for the month of November, I will take a photo (or a few) of Tom Servo doing something and post it to the blog. It could be something simple. It could be something exciting. It could be scary. Check back each day (or every few) for a short blog post with photo. And please send me your ideas! Want to see Tom Servo doing something specific? Post it in the comments section or email me at sarahinsmalldoses@gmail.com and I’ll discuss your idea with Tom to see if he’s up for it. And happy writing to other NaNoWriMo/NaBloPoMo participants! Good luck!

I know technically I missed yesterday, but I did post the day before and it was Tom Servo related (with lots of photos) so I hope you’ll forgive me. I’ll have a second post about yesterday up later today. Here’s what I would have posted yesterday:

Tom Servo came to work with me on Friday and he was a big help!

Tom Servo: Passenger.

Tom Servo: Passenger.

 

Just riding in the car was an experience. I told him he needed to wear his seatbelt. And that no, technically, we didn’t qualify for the carpool lane. He was disappointed.

I told him if he was coming to work, that meant he needed to help out. He jumped right in. He answered the phone for me and made some calls using his polite professional voice:

"Good morning! May I please speak with your fax machine?"

“Good morning! May I please speak with your fax machine?”

Took notes and did a little typing:

"To Whom It May Concern..."

“To Whom It May Concern…”

He couldnt crack the 10 WPM limit. So, like me in middle school...

He couldn’t crack the 10 WPM limit. So, like me in middle school…

And even got the mail thing down:

"I may start up an interoffice romance with the vending machine near the break room. She has Cheez-its!"

“I may start up an interoffice romance with the vending machine near the break room. She has Cheez-its!”

Outgoing indeed!

Outgoing indeed!

 

I think he got a little stressed out by my inbox at the end of the day, though.

Those documents arent going to copy themselves!

Those documents aren’t going to copy themselves!

And I feel pretty secure in my job because his typing skills are horrendous. He basically just mashes the keyboard. But it was nice having a cubemate for the day, especially since my coworker was out on Friday. Anyone need a temp?

*And the purpose of the ladder is to allow you to reach great heights. I’m required by law** to have at least one pun in each post.

**And by “law” I mean my brother-in-law.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

2 responses to “NaBloPoWriMo Servo: Day 1”

  1. Michael says :

    That was nice of Tom to pitch in at the office. He has such a pleasant voice and personality. I would like to see Tom getting gumballs from a gumball machine and/or being freaked out by it. I would also like to see Tom attempt to double as a parking meter to receive change. Have a great NaBloPoWriMo 😉

  2. Sarah in Small Doses says :

    He’s a pretty good helper. And he does have a nice voice. I’ll work on the gumballs from a gumball machine. It might be a little while…not many places have gumball machines anymore. And the parking meter will be attempted also. Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

