Video Killed the Radio Star

I have a face for radio and a voice for silent films. Just kidding.

But I’ve had a lot of video/radio experiences recently. And I got new iPod headphones yesterday. So exciting!

Hello! I’m sorry my posting has been so sporadic lately, but the book is still taking priority. I have a new deadline and even more reason to finish, so things will probably still be light here for a few more weeks. BUT, in keeping with the title, I thought I’d post links to some videos. I posted one of them here but I realized I didn’t post the other three so here they are:

Carl the Cat*

Nicknames***

Motion Sickness*****

Turning a Corner

I had so much fun making these and I have plans to make some more in the not-too-distant future, so be on the lookout. Special thanks to Philip Simondet for the cab rides.

Radio stars indeed. And Rockettes!

Radio stars indeed. And Rockettes!

Also, I just received the video of my appearance on the local Moth show! For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, the Moth is a live storytelling contest (StorySlam, like PoetrySlam) that happens around the country on various nights of the month. It’s also a radio show on NPR (selected from different stories from the live show). There is a theme each time and on the last Wednesday of every month, the Moth comes to the Amsterdam bar in St. Paul. I’ve missed the last couple and I’m missing this month (sad!) but I made it to the one a couple of months ago when the theme was “Courage.” Luck was on my side because mine was the first name drawn (out of a hat) to tell a story that evening. Here’s the link to the video. I sound more out of breath than I realized (and I didn’t know I was blinking so long) but (I think) it’s an interesting story about lifeguarding at the Eau Claire Fairfax Pool.******

And, this Saturday and next Saturday night at 10:30 PM at HUGE theater in Minneapolis I’ll be part of a live radio-ish improv show called “This is Yay!” hosted by Mike Fotis (who also usually hosts the Moth). It will be turned into a podcast, so I’ll post the link here when it’s available.

Until next time, stay cool, kids. Stay cool.

 

*Fun fact: Calico refers to the color pattern on the fur, not to a particular breed. A calico coloration mixed with a tabby pattern is called a caliby.** Calicos are nearly always female. Male calicos are rare and are almost always sterile. Sorry Carl the Cat. Thanks to Barb B. for alerting me of this! And Barb and I (and her daughters) saw improv together a few years ago at HUGE, which is where I’ll be performing the next two weekends. Funny!

**Unlike my sister, who is just called Libby.****

***Sarah is also not a nickname-able name.

****Libby is a nickname for Elizabeth, which has at least 18 nicknames.

*****Fortunately, I do not get motion sickness. At all.

******Fun fact: Laura Buchholz, who hosted and introduces me in the video, is from Eau Claire. She’s a friend of my cousin Tom’s. Small world.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

5 responses to “Video Killed the Radio Star”

  1. Bill says :

    Loved the Moth video. I have to take issue with the claim that Sarah is not nickname-able. There is Sar, Sally, Sadie, Sare-Bear, probably others….

    • Sarah in Small Doses says :

      Glad you enjoyed the video!

      It’s true; I have a friend who calls me Sar, another who calls me Rah, and a cousin who calls me Rah Rah, but only a few people can get away with Sare-Bear. Not a fan of Sarah Bearah. I’ve never gotten Sally or Sadie, but I had heard they were nicknames for Sarah back in the day. Now, I think they’re names in their own right.

  2. Gabriel Garbow says :

    Are you sure there hasn’t been a fish donut? Do fish eclairs count?

  3. Michael Turner says :

    Wow, I enjoyed your Moth Show video – that is an interesting experience and very courageous by the young girl. I also liked your Nicknames video – kind of like those ‘Taxicab Confessions’ videos they used to show. Face for radio was a classic from broadcasting school.

Leave a Reply

