March Madness

A little madness in the Spring
Is wholesome even for the King.                                      ~Emily Dickinson

“You’re only given a little spark of madness. You mustn’t lose it.”   ~Robin Williams

Well, it’s officially spring, or so the calendar will tell you. Time marches on, as they say, and March is on time. And thank goodness for that. It felt like we were going to be in subzero purgatory for eternity, but then, just last week, we jumped a good 40-60 degrees and now we have seen the 40s! It’s amazing what constitutes exciting after the winter we’ve had.

I’m sorry I didn’t post last week and that this week’s post is late (and pun-heavy). I feel like I’ve been running around like a madwoman and I haven’t even gotten to my spring cleaning. Here’s what I’ve been up to:

I had a birthday! I know I mentioned that in the last post I wrote, but I had a great low-key series of celebrations, including a concert with my friend and fellow blogger, That Girl Who Reads Books. It was a great gift and made me realize that “If it’s too loud then you’re too old” isn’t always true. Sometimes “if it’s too loud, you’re just in a really small venue with too many amps such that the mic blows and you should probably bring earplugs next time, just to be safe.” I made some videos (all improv) with Philip Simondet as a birthday present to myself, the first of which is up at his YouTube channel, Minimum Fare. I’ll post more here as they come up, but you should check out the other videos because a) they’re all good and b) they all feature Twin Cities improv-ers you can see in shows and events around the area, usually on the cheap. And who doesn’t love cheap,* especially in the spring?

I also took a trip to my old stomping grounds, NYC. Here are a few pictures.

The lovely couple.

The lovely couple.

Home sweet home in Brooklyn.

Home sweet home in Brooklyn.

I lived here for three weeks.

I lived here for three weeks.

Central Park West

Central Park West

My favorite spot in Central Park.

My favorite spot in Central Park.

You can tell it's Dega because it's dancers.

You can tell it’s Dega because it’s dancers.

Freedom Tower from the south.

Freedom Tower from the south.

My old office.

My old office.

I love the sense of humor. My first trip to NYC there was a sign that said "If you don't clean up after your pet, you don't deserve to own one." Tell it like it is.

I love the sense of humor. My first trip to NYC there was a sign that said “If you don’t clean up after your pet, you don’t deserve to own one.” Tell it like it is.

My first apartment. Washington Heights.

My first apartment. Washington Heights.

Looking over 10th Avenue from Highline Park.

Looking over 10th Avenue from Highline Park.

View at dusk from the Tram from Roosevelt Island.

View at dusk from the Tram from Roosevelt Island.

Meteorite!

Meteorite!

Meteorites!

Meteorites!

It was amazing and fun and reminded me both why I love that city and why I left. But I think I will always miss it and dream of moving back. Perhaps when my book sells?

Speaking of which, I made it to 150 (mostly) solid pages of the second book! I’m hoping to finish a rough first draft by mid-April, since I’ve mapped out what needs to be done and it’s doable. After that, I hope to send out stand-alone chapters for publication in lit mags and journals to help drum up some interest before I query agents.

And I’ve had lots of random thoughts:

If I had my own pop company, I’d name it MinneSoda. Because.

I got on a bus the other day that smelled like brussel sprouts** and everyone was sitting in the back (pretty full seating but totally empty in the front), which made me wonder if something had happened right before I got on that explained both of those things or if people just like being cozy when it’s cold and the bus smells bad.

What are people from Maine called? I think they should be called Mainions. Like minions but, you know, Maine. Also, I’m not the first one to wonder this, apparently. The official nickname or demonym for someone from Maine, though, is Mainer. Also (unofficial): Down Easter/Downeaster, Pine Tree (?), and Mainiac. Look to future posts for other fun demonyms!

If I were a superhero***, my superpowers (as it stands) would be puns, movie trivia, and lit knowledge. As such, here are the names I’ve come up with as options for said alterego:

Punster/Punner (boring, I know)

Punny Girl (Like Funny Girl starring Barbra Streisand, not to be confused with Funny Face starring Audrey Hepburn)

Pun’d (Like Punk’d)

Punn’dit (self-explanatory)

Once A Pun A Time

The Pit and the Pundulum

Punning Man

Cool Punnings

raPunzel

Honey Punny (Like Honey Bunny from Pulp Fiction)

Moneypunny (Like Moneypenny from the James Bond movies)

and the two-way tie for my favorite:

Punsy Brewster AND The Punzi Scheme.
Thoughts?

*Cheep cheep! The first of many terrible puns.

**Bussel sprouts?

***I do have my own trading card. So, I’m halfway there, right?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

