Projecting, Part 3 OR Wardrobe Malfunctions

I found out earlier this week that an essay of mine was accepted to an anthology that focuses on Midwestern writers writing about Midwestern content. I’m thrilled! I don’t have more information right now, but I’ll let you know when I do, and I’ll keep you posted on other writing/publishing-related updates.  -Sarah
In early September I was deciding whether I wanted to keep living in my apartment or move, and I felt a little overwhelmed by the idea of moving and all the projects that go with it. I used to be a really neat person (by that I mean tidy; I’d like to think I’m still the other “neat-o” kind of neat), but as I’ve gotten older and busier, piles have started forming: the post-it and writing idea pile, the pile of paid bills and important papers, the ironing-and-mending pile, the “jewelry to be fixed” pile, and the pile to go through and organize (which is all of them).
Ugh. Please excuse my piles.

Ugh. Please excuse my piles.

Having moved eight times in the past eight years, I’ve become adept at the last-minute move-it-and-sort-it-out-later, grab-n-pack franticness that results in essentially moving my clutter, and each time I think, I’ll just get it in the new place and then figure out what to do with it. I didn’t want to do that this time (even though I ultimately decided to delay the next move until April) so I decided to really get stuff done this time. I mentioned my anxiety to my friend and fellow blogger, CH aka That Girl Who Reads Books, and she told me to make a to-do list and send it to her and we could cross stuff off together.*

A large stressor at the time was the ever-expanding ironing-and-mending pile. I have some articles of clothing that I’ve moved multiple times in a state of disrepair. That is sad. It seems like every other day one of my socks gets a hole in the toe, which is annoying but not enough (in my opinion) to warrant tossing, especially if the rest of the sock is fine. Add to that my prolific perspiration (resulting in some lovely** underarm crescents), and it started to feel like the amount of clothing I could wear was almost smaller than the amount in need of assistance. When I finally went through the pile to take stock of the needed repairs (and what materials they required), I realized that some of the fixes wouldn’t take a long time, although, sadly, some of these pieces of my wardrobe will need to be replaced or removed. Can’t win ’em all.

One of the major fixes was a dress I bought in New York, wore maybe three times, and somehow stained with bleach. I can’t even tell you how it happened–I wore it, then the next time I went to wear it, there was a bleach stain on it. I realized that I couldn’t do much spot work on the actual stain, but I could dye the whole dress and hope it turned out. CH had some items she wanted to dye as well, which worked out nicely, and we both had some mending and “whitening” to do. She had just gotten rid of some white clothes because they had yellow stains on them, but we found a few that she could fix up. I had been stockpiling my whites for months. (Have I mentioned I sweat through my shirt regularly? Because I do.)

That Girl Who Reads Books modeling the dress, pre-dye.

That Girl Who Reads Books modeling the dress, pre-dye.

Another friend and fellow blogger, Prairie Wisdom, posted about a fix she found on someone else’s blog for how to get rid of underarm stains. She did it and it worked, so I thought I should try. It worked for me, too! Thank goodness because otherwise I’d be giving up whites for the foreseeable future.
I Cheese WI, Before.

I Cheese WI, Before.

Ring around the collar, Before.

Ring around the collar, Before.

The recipe:
1 part Dawn dishwashing liquid
2 parts hydrogen peroxide
1/4 part baking soda
Use a stiff-bristled brush to rub the stain in and let it rest for an hour or so. Then wash as you normally would.
Voila!
Ring around the collar, after.

Ring around the collar, after.

I Cheese, WI, After.

I Cheese, WI, After.

Dyeing, however, was less successful.
Long, long ago, in a galaxy far, far away...

Long, long ago, in a galaxy far, far away…

CH’s pants turned only moderately darker/less purple; everything else didn’t hold the dye very well. Corduroy, silk, and acetate do not dye well, FYI, but skin does. And cheap rubber gloves from Wal-Mart leak.
Oh, if only.

Oh, if only.

While our clothes were drying, we switched gears to mending. I darned some socks (boring) and fixed a tear in one of CH’s dresses (no picture) but the thing that made me the happiest, sewing-wise, was fixing a sweater I had bought online but have never worn. It looked like such a cute ruffled collar in the picture, but for some reason the ruffles ended abruptly and stuck out.
These ruffles don't have ridges, they have cliffs.

These ruffles don’t have ridges, they have cliffs.

Not a good look. So CH and I decided a fix would be to sew the ruffles into one another, so they end gradually.
One side done.

One side done.

Closer up.

Closer up.

I didn’t finish everything on the mending pile, which continues to add items (oh those darn socks!*****). But it felt really good to cross some things off and return some pieces of clothing to useable condition. And, at the end of the day, spending time with CH was the best. Here’s to doing projects with friends. Cheers!

Not a bad way to end the day.

Not a bad way to end the day.

*That is true friendship.

**One man’s under-armpiss*** is another man’s perspiration-inspiration****

***pit pee?

****My  last roommate and I came up with an SNL-worthy anti-perspirant ad spoof. It’s not appropriate for this blog, but it is funny. Just trust me.

*****Get it, darn?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

