Projecting, Part 1

Sorry I didn’t post last week. I hope you understand, especially after you read this post. – Sarah

From Dictionary.com:

noun

2. a large or major undertaking, especially one involving considerable money, personnel, and equipment.
verb

6. to propose, contemplate, or plan.

7.  to throw cast, or impel forward or onward.

14. to present (an idea, program, etc.) for consideration or action: They made every effort to project the notion of world peace.
19. to use one’s voice forcefully enough to be heard at a distance, as in a theater.
20. to produce a clear impression of one’s thoughts, personality, role, etc., in an audience; communicate clearly and forcefully.
21. (Psychology). to ascribe one’s own feelings, thoughts, or attitudes to others.

I’ve been doing a lot of projecting lately. I mean that in every sense (and nonsense) of the word: I’ve been putting myself out there in my writing and in job-hunting. I’ve been working on a lot of small projects around my apartment, sort of a long overdue spring cleaning.  I’ve been (somewhat unsuccessfully) trying to strengthen my voice so the audience can hear me better when I do improv, since a common critique I’ve gotten is to be louder.*  I’ve been putting on a more self-confident air and attributing my feelings to other people. But mostly, I’ve been working on projects.

My friend and fellow blogger, CH, asked me what was causing me stress in my life and I told her that I have all of these overdue projects I’ve been meaning to finish that have sat dormant for months (even years, in some cases). “Make a to-do list and email it to me,” she said. “We’ll knock off as much as we can.”

When I actually sat down and made the list, I immediately felt a little better. Seeing things on paper makes them less overwhelming. That might be what I miss about manual labor: there is something to being able to cross items off and see what you’ve accomplished. This is why I prefer cleaning to cooking. I love taking something that is a mess and making it neat. If anyone wants me to come fold laundry, let me know.**

The first project we tackled was my closet. I normally organize my clothes by type of item (shirt, skirt, pants) then color, then pattern. After a while, especially if I’ve been really busy, this system breaks down, and things get out of control. I also wanted to go through my clothes to purge items I no longer wear. I’m sentimental about, well, everything***, which my friend Lindsay can attest to, so I had to try very hard to get rid of things. I had a hard rule**** that if it didn’t fit or I didn’t wear it in the last year (or so) I got rid of it. Here’s the result:

So much better.

So much better.

CH had to leave before we finished other projects (but we both found gifts for upcoming events, so that can be crossed off the list). We’re having a slumber party this weekend to work on some other projects (unusual laundry-related projects being the top of the list–intrigued? You should be), so I may post on that in the future.

While I was in a projecting mood, I also organized my drawers, my linen closet, and the front coat closet. I got rid of some beloved items: a pair of wedge heels I’ve worn out (see below), a beautiful red winter coat, another pair of heels, and some pants that my sister nabbed, and a bunch of clothes that I probably shouldn’t even lounge in.

I also got around to fixing some things that were broken.

Mostly okay...

Mostly okay…

Once upon a time, I used to do a lot more arts and crafts, including making my own jewelry/beadwork. I made a couple of stretchy bracelets out of safety pins after I saw a similar bangle on someone else. They’re super easy to make (I hesitate to even show you) but the elastic has a shorter life than I’d like, which means both the bracelets I made for myself snapped a few years ago. I moved, then moved again, and forgot about them until I wanted to wear one recently. A few hours’ time and some new elastic and you’d never know. Since I used the same elastic as before, I’ll probably have to re-string them again in a few years, but for now, they’re as good as new.*****

Part of what spurred this round of projecting was the prospect of moving. After weighing all of my options, I decided to sign a six-month lease with my current (less-than-wonderful) management company, but in the spring it is time for a change. I’m giving myself a hard deadline****** and moving on. Until then, I’ll be projecting all winter until I run out of projects or steam, whichever comes first. Hopefully the former.

Unstrung.

Unstrung.

Mid-restringing.

Mid-restringing.

Done!

Done!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Broken.

Broken.

 

 

 

 

What projects are you working on?

 

 

Close-up.

Close-up.

One side done.

One side done.

Action shot!

Action shot!

Done!

Done!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These were well-loved.

These were well-loved.

*That and to get out of my head.

**I LOVE folding laundry. That and dishes are my biggest stress relievers.

***I think this makes me a better writer, since I can find old emails to use as material or pull out a shirt I used to wear and be transported back to that time. It has also meant that both Lindsay and CH watched me eat expired candy rather than throwing it away. But that’s mostly because I don’t have much of a sweet tooth but I hate being wasteful.

****By hard rule, I mean, aside from anything super sentimental. But everything else was fair game. Except if I just couldn’t part with it. Then I kept it. But I intend to use everything, or I’ll get rid of what I don’t use before I move again. Unless I just can’t let it go. Then I’ll keep it….

*****If you are interested in obtaining your very own, Sarah Turner Original Bracelet, contact me and we can work out the details (color, style, etc.).

******This is actually a hard deadline.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

