One Man Show

First, let me apologize for two things: 1) Not posting last week. It may make more sense at the end of this post. And 2) posting a draft of this post earlier today. I try to schedule my posts to publish, so I can be sure to have one out each week, but I’ve been busy and I didn’t get a chance to finish this one before it published this morning. If you follow me via email, you probably read the draft. Sorry.

As I mentioned, it’s been a busy week and a half. I went to a wedding a week and a half ago, which was an all-around great experience. The bride was stunning, the groom was goofy, and the food/drinks/dancing/general merriment were awesome. And, for those of you who are dying to know, I did wear the green dress. It was pretty much perfect (the wedding, not my dress…well, maybe my dress). The weekend of the wedding, my sister and her husband moved to MN from Seattle, so there was much celebration. I performed on Wednesday and finished teaching last Thursday, which I’ll tell you about later in this post. I went to a bachelorette party this past weekend, which involved wine-tasting, hot-tubbing, and lots of new friends. I’m graduating (officially) on Saturday, so there have been things going on with that, I’ve had a couple of free-lance gigs, I’m working on some projects, and Minnesota just became the 12th state to allow same-sex marriage.* But, I know you’re all dying to hear about my improv experience so here is a brief recap:

Well, I did it. I got on stage and actually performed improv. It was amazing. Our group was on, the crowd was warmed up and ready to laugh, and (most of) the scenes were met with loud laughter. I had so much fun–I can’t wait for July and the next performance. I don’t think I could have done it without my fellow teammates (yes, we’re now a team–our stage name is “One Man Show” **) SO thank you, Julie S., Julie V., Ingrid, Shane, Alli, Sammy, and our two absentees, Katherine and Ashley. Thank you, also, to the 18 (!) friends and family members of mine who came to see me perform. It felt so great to have such a strong following and I promise to let you know as soon as possible when the next show is scheduled. And special thanks to Chris, our teacher/coach. We would still be asking questions and saying “no” if it weren’t for you.***

I’m kind of addicted now, so you’ll probably hear more about this as I make my way through the program. **** If I could somehow make money off of this, I’d be a very happy woman. But even just having the opportunity to make people laugh while I’m having fun is pretty amazing.

Teaching my last class (for now) was a bittersweet experience. I care about each and every one of the students I taught, and I’m so proud of the effort they put in to their writing and of the work they produced. I hope they had a good experience and that they continue writing, no matter what their vocation ends up being. And, while I still have a stack of portfolios to grade and return, I feel like my work was a success. I’m not going to lie, though, it felt good to be done. *****

Token joke: I misread a pop-up ad that said “Lower My Bills” as “Lower My Balls.” I have no idea what that would entail but I was ready to report it as inappropriate content.

That’s all I’ve got for now. I’ll try to be better about posting on time each week, but it’s summer and my schedule fills up quickly. SO if I don’t post as regularly, please don’t drop me. I appreciate your readership.

*I have more to say about this, but I want to collect my thoughts. Check back next week!

**…’cause there’s only one dude. Yes, I thought of it.

***We may or may not still do this anyway.

****Because, let’s face it, I plan on taking classes in something for the rest of my life.

*****Well, aside from those portfolios. And final grades. But, you know, done with lesson plans.

Tags: ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

2 responses to “One Man Show”

  1. Evan Kingston says :

    You were awesome, Sarah–Jenny and I can’t wait for your next performance, either!

Leave a Reply

