Maybe It’s Just Me…

…but I’m pretty sure this headline (from weather.com)

Winter Storm Yogi Bears Down on Upper Midwest

has a joke hidden in it. Really? Yogi bears…you couldn’t have said “Yogi blasts” or “Yogi rages”?

Maybe it’s just me, but naming weather events doesn’t make them less annoying. I feel bad for anyone who is named Katrina; the hurricane of the same name will forever be associated with negative feelings. Also, if the calendar says it’s spring, it should be called a spring storm. Even if it’s wintry weather. Just sayin’.

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t think I’d like living in a senior housing center with the word “Ebenezer” in the title. Do we really need something that rhymes with “geezer” in the name? Also, do we really want to think of Scrooge* when we’re visiting Grandpa? How about we return to “Old Folks Home Retirement Community” and call it a day.

Did you know there is something called a “millwright”? I was all excited when I thought it was similar to a playwright, but instead of being all-knowing about plays,** they’d be all-knowing about mills.*** Turns out it’s someone who deals with the construction and maintenance of machinery. Sad.

Maybe it’s just me, but if someone asks you not to use a word, like, say, Bummer, it’s typically courteous to not use that word. Did you hear that greater Twin Cities metro area? If I never heard that word again I would die a happy woman. I’m totally serious. Please don’t use it around me. Please.

Maybe it’s just me, but the eeriest thing about the thundersnow last week wasn’t that the thunder rumbled for a full 15 seconds. It was the birds chirping afterward.**** Creeeeeepy.

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t think places like the public library or schools or even my office building should have to put a sign up that says “The Post Office bans guns on these premises.” Can we just assume that guns are banned everywhere unless posted otherwise, instead of the other way around? Because I would like to ban them wherever I go.

Maybe it’s just me, but I think there should be an express elevator for buildings with over ten floors. Where I used to work, there were elevators specifically for floors 11-16 and it made things so much easier for those workers on floors 11-16.***** Regardless, if you are traveling one floor in either direction and you don’t have a medical condition preventing you from walking, take the stairs. Please.

Maybe it’s just me, but I feel like April 18 is way too late to have a snow day. My college announced yesterday the first snow day in my memory. On April 18. Seriously? And I heard that Duluth schools are cancelled today. I really hope this is the last of it. Maybe it’s just me, but I think we’re all ready for spring.

*Although, with a name like that you’d expect it to be cheap.

** ‘Cause that’s what a playwright is, right Rob?

***Look out Don Quixote!

****They were totally tweeting. “Did you hear that? #thundersnow” “I know, that was totally #thundersnow.”

*****Unfortunately, we couldn’t take the stairs, and I worked on the second floor, so I’m hypocrtical. But in my current building, you can take the stairs, and there is also an escalator specifically for floor 2, AND there are three additional 1-10 elevators (but no elevators that skip ahead to floors 11-16).

Tags: , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

