A Day in the Life

In my stumbles through the blogosphere, I discovered a delightful blog that I have since forgotten the name of, for which the blogger took a photo an hour every Thursday to show her day. I thought it was a cool idea, so I decided to copy it. Since I don’t have a smartphone or good camera on my phone, I had to do it the old-fashioned (high-tech digital available the same moment just not uploadable right away) way. Her photos were very artsy and narrative. Mine are…well, you’ll see. Please don’t judge my poor photography skills–sometimes I was rushing as I took the shot.  Enjoy!  –Sarah

6ish in the morning:

Wake up! Yes, that is a twin bed. And yes, I did then make it after this photo.

Wake up! Yes, that is a twin bed. And yes, I did then make it after this photo.

7ish:

The bleakest bus stop in St. Paul. It is on a hill next to the water tower and there is nothing for a mile but wind. Usually, it's been darker...

The bleakest bus stop in St. Paul. It is on a hill next to the water tower and there is nothing for a mile but wind. Usually, it’s been darker…

8ish:

By some miracle, I caught the elevator. Alone. Which was good, since, you know, I took this picture.

By some miracle, I caught the elevator. Alone. Which was good, since, you know, I took this picture.

9ish:

This is what my desk looked like at 9ish. (I blurred out the details, but you get the picture.)

This is what my desk looked like at 9ish. (I blurred out the details, but you get the picture.)

10ish:

...and this is what my desk looked like at 10ish.

…and this is what my desk looked like at 10ish.

11ish:

I needed a snack.

I needed a snack.

noonish:

Clean desk. I feel successful.

Clean desk. I feel successful.

1ish:

About to go make copies for class. Quick shot of the outfit: dress courtesy of my friend Charlie, aka That Girl Who Reads Books.

About to go make copies for class. Quick shot of the outfit: dress courtesy of my friend Charlie, aka That Girl Who Reads Books.

2ish:

Class begins at 2:30.

Class begins at 2:30.

3ish:

We're talking about short nonfiction. Judith Kitchen's "On the Farm," Brevity 27 (www.brevitymag.com)

We’re talking about short nonfiction. Judith Kitchen’s “On the Farm,” Brevity 27 (www.brevitymag.com)

4ish:

Post-class de-briefing with my colleagues. That beer is not mine. The popcorn, however...

Post-class de-briefing with my colleagues. That beer is not mine. The popcorn, however…

5ish:

Yeah, that's about right.

Yeah, that’s about right.

6ish:

On the way to Eau Claire. Don't worry, it was a red light.

On the way to Eau Claire. Don’t worry, it was a red light.

7ish:

I was so hungry I forgot to take a photo of dinner. But it was delicious. We celebrated my birthday.

I was so hungry I forgot to take a photo of dinner. But it was delicious. We celebrated my birthday. Flowers courtesy of Fifty Rows Up.

8ish:

My first apron. Shocking, I know. My mom made it! Again, too hungry to get a shot of the cupcakes, but they were Funfetti with Rainbow Chip frosting. Yum.

My first apron. Shocking, I know. My mom made it! Again, too hungry to get a shot of the cupcakes, but they were Funfetti with Rainbow Chip frosting. Yum.

9ish:

Quiddler!

Quiddler!

10ish:

Hot chocolate with Bailey's . Check out the action shot!

Hot chocolate with Bailey’s . Check out the action shot!

Way after 10ish:

Boots and bed. Yes, that is another twin bed. The twin to my twin, you could say.

Boots and bed. Yes, that is another twin bed. The twin to my twin, you could say.

Whew. I’m beat. If anyone would like to do his or her own photo blog and guest post it here, you are more than welcome. Or if you’d like to just guest post, please let me know. I’d be happy to have you.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

One response to “A Day in the Life”

  1. thatgirlwhoreadsbooks says :

    Looks like a fun idea!

Leave a Reply

