Thanksgiving Turkey and Spam

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I think Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. All you do is eat and think about everything you’re thankful you have. Don’t get me wrong, I love holidays in general. But there’s no pressure to buy the perfect gift, like at Christmas, or find a date, like on Valentine’s Day. You just eat and spend quality time with loved ones. And there’s parades and football, so lots of interesting things with which to divert yourself if you feel uncomfortable around said loved ones.

I know I’ve posted on gratitude before, but I believe in taking every opportunity to show appreciation. I just hit over 5,000 all-time views, which feels pretty great. So thank you, long-time and loyal readers, for your continued support and readership. I really appreciate hearing that you read my blog. It makes it easier to write these posts knowing that people read them, because, I’ll be honest, sometimes it is hard coming up with stuff to write about. And I’ve been a little disheartened lately. But seeing that my blog had 35 views or 11 views or 82 (!) views on any given day really keeps me going. And thank you new visitors! I don’t know how you found me, but I’m glad you’re here. Scroll through some of the archives (the Zombie Apocalypse post is one of my faves–it’s in January). And please comment if you feel so inclined. You can also contact me via email at sarahinsmalldoses@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

I hope all of you are spending today with special people, because special people make everything better. Like the time we had to microwave the turkey because my aunt forgot to defrost it. Having my family there to deal with the situation certainly made waiting the extra few hours to eat bearable. I’ll be helping cook the meal this afternoon, so hopefully there won’t be any issues. I made sure to defrost the turkey, and I’ve cooked the meal before (with lots of help, as I’ll have today) so we should be good.

Getting back to gratitude, I want to express gratitude for something I don’t think a lot of people appreciate: Spam. I’m not talking about the molded-to-the-can spiced ham food product from Minnesota. I’m talking about unsolicited emails from web-bots and whatnot. It sounds weird, but they also keep me going (in addition to your comments and viewership). The spam comments I get are usually random, hilarious, weird, and sometimes insulting, but there are ones that also provide an ego boost. Here are some of my favorites, for your enjoyment (and don’t go to the websites/email addresses. I don’t want to promote them, just show you the randomness of who I get spam from):

The confusing:

Howdy. I am not certain if I coincide win [sic] the previous arguments. I have a predicament. -headachetreatment

When it comes to reliability and efficiency your website gains for all the others. -maladiretasegmentada

What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience about unpredicted feelings. -Donna, which sounds suspiciously like:

What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable knowledge regarding unexpected emotions -selfstorageidea.wordpress

If someone wants to be updated with most recent technologies afterward he must be visit this web page and be up to date everyday. -shapingbody.wordpress

The (mostly) positive:

I don’t even know the way I finished up here, but I thought this submit used to be good. I don’t understand who you’re but you’re definitely going to be a famous blogger when you aren’t already. Cheers! -newyorkselfstoragerentals

Very rarely do I come across a blog that’s both informative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. -kitsucesso

it was an immeasurable pleasure to read your posts. i will definitely be coming back here -casaemail  (Awww, thanks!)

I am really thankful to the owner of this web page who has shared this wonderful post at at this place. -fashionableshapewear.wordpress

Oh la la! Thanks for the post! -busquemail

The mildly insulting under the guise of being helpful:

Always keep that good quality, and you will get even more visitors.

Not what I was thinking but nice anyway! Good for you! -liquid chillstep

and

Try to improve your website as well as you improve your writing. -maladiretasegmentada

The best fakeout:

It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now I’ll settle for  bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon! -northfacejacketsale

and my favorite:

This blog rocks! -listadeemails

I wanted to save that one, but I didn’t want to encourage more spam, even though it makes me happy. Do something that makes you happy today.  You’ve already made me happy by reading this post. Have a great Thanksgiving!  -Sarah

Tags: , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

6 responses to “Thanksgiving Turkey and Spam”

  1. Evan Kingston says :

    Happy Thanksgiving, Sarah! I find the spam comments especially entertaining when I consider that there must be at least a few bloggers out there who are fooled by them regularly, or else it wouldn’t be worth the spammers’ time to put them up.

    • sarahwithanh25 says :

      Happy Thanksgiving to you, Evan! Yes, it is amazing that people are duped by these comments, especially the ones that are so vague–“I really like this website and the information contained therein,” or “I will try to adhere to your advice in this post (but I’m not going to give specifics on what advice I like).” Oh Spam.

  2. thatgirlwhoreadsbooks says :

    I never even read the spam- just hit the delete button. You’ve opened up a whole new world to me.

  3. Michael says :

    I get spam from lonely females who want me to view their sexy pics. Is that normal?

Leave a Reply

