It’s Award Wednesday!

Just kidding, I made that up.

BUT my friend Charlie nominated me for a Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award, so I’m doing a pre-post post about this accolade. What is the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award? Well, I don’t exactly know, except that I’m supposed to:

  • Thank the person who nominated me & post the award icon on my blog,
  • Tell you seven things about me that you might not know, and
  • Nominate anywhere from five to a hundred and five other (female?) bloggers for this award.

Being a former investigator, I tried searching for the “origin” of this award or some kind of site that lists award winners or something, but all I found was this very vague allusion to the award in January 2011 (the earliest date I found the award). I don’t actually know if Sandra started the award as she claims, but I want to thank Charlie for nominating me for one!

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award! (Origin unknown…)

My nominations (they’re also in my Blogs to Check Out):

SheBearLiterary: Stephanie AMO – Stephanie writes about mothers and daughters (especially relevant since she just had a baby girl a few days ago!) and literature and womanhood and so much more. Definitely worth a look.

So it Goes Baseball: Christine R – I don’t know that much about baseball, although I enjoy watching games, but Christine makes a passionate case for the men in pinstripes (and plain pants) who play professionally. Nicely done, Christine!

Puddle Soul: Laura T – Writer, mother, blogger, teacher, wife, daughter – exhausted yet? She must be, too. But she keeps writing. Good work, Laura!

Renee Beauregard Lute (I think that’s also the name of her blog…) – Renee is the editor-in-chief of The Review Review which, well, reviews Reviews. You know, like literary journals. Anyway, she also does these fascinating interview posts of stay-at-home moms in her Stay at Home Diaries series. Even though I’m not a mom (stay-at-home or otherwise) I applaud your attention to this varied occupation, Renee.

Fifty Rows Up: Carlee T – Carlee writes with a socially conscious eye about sports, why we play what we play, why we revere who we revere (and who we maybe should revere), and everything in between, while interweaving literary quotes, social media, and personal narratives. I know Charlie nominated her, too, but I don’t care.

Prairie Wisdom – Lori T – I’ve known Lori more than half my life (her daughter and I have been best friends since middle school) and I’ve grown up hearing some of the stories she lays out (with humor and heart) in her blog. She includes everything from embarrassing personal anecdotes to home remedies.

And I know I can’t nominate Charlie back (oh wait, there’s nothing in the rules that says I can’t!) but I do want to thank her again. She’s a great writer, blogger, and most of all, friend. Look for her guest post in a couple of weeks!

Now for the seven things you might not know about me:

1) I have crooked pinkies. Like, really crooked. Someone who shall remain nameless (but not my parents) tried to straighten them right after my birth. But, as Lady Gaga says, I was born this way.

2) I have Raynaud’s disease, a circulatory disorder that causes me to have cold hands and feet most of the year. (I’ll probably post or write an essay about this at some point.) So if you see me running around with gloves on in early September or late May, and you think, it isn’t that cold out, know that for me, it is.

3) I’m fascinated by physical scars. And belly buttons. I have pieces in the works about both of these topics (and how they relate).

4) My middle name is the same as my sister’s first name. I used to think it was weird, but now I like it. Especially since we no longer share a last name.

5) I’m kind of still scared of the dark. I blame it on the fact that I wear glasses, so I can’t see very well already and the dark just makes it worse. If someone attacked me in the dark and I didn’t have my glasses on, I wouldn’t be able to describe the person at all. This may sound like a silly thing to worry about, but…

6) I was burglarized almost three years ago and it still bothers me. That’s all I’m going to say about this for now.

AND

7) I secretly want to be a drummer. I just found out that my sister’s husband bought her a drum set and I’m super jealous. She’s also guest posting for me in the next few weeks–maybe she’ll lay down a beat for you? I hope so.

Okay, back to work. Tomorrow, look for my last time authoring this blog for a month; but don’t worry, I’m leaving you in good hands: my parents! (Because I don’t have kids or a dog for them to look after, I have a blog!)

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

Leave a Reply

