Hello world!

Hello World!

That was the pre-set title given to this post but I kind of like it so I’ll keep it. It reminds me of my first day of kindergarten, which I’ll probably write about in a future posting.  You’ll just have to check back and find out…

So in case you missed it, we’ve entered the year 2012.  And I started a blog.  This is momentous.  Not so much the blog but that we’ve reached year 2012.  I remember when Y2K loomed over us like a tech-nocalypse and now that is soooo twelve years ago.  And now I feel old for two reasons, because I’m sure no one says anything is “sooo [however long] ago” anymore.

I worried about writing this post for a variety of reasons.  One, I’m pretty sure my mom will read this (Hi Mom!) and I want to make sure it is grammatically correct for both her sake and mine.  But also I consider blogging a big deal.  I claim to be a writer, and blogging makes that feel more real.  I wanted to have something really important to say.  Or funny.  I like funny.

Speaking of which, on New Year’s Eve I went to a party and the hostess introduced me to a couple of her friends as “pretty much one of the funniest people” she knows.  Which is such a great compliment, but, you know, no pressure or anything.  I felt like I had to crack jokes the rest of the night until champagne came out their noses or one of them peed their pants (or would it be his/her pants/skirt?) I’m fairly certain I didn’t even make them so much as giggle.

So I won’t promise funny.  I can’t.  If you happen to laugh, great.  If not, I probably didn’t mean to be funny anyway, and you shouldn’t seek to laugh at others’ misfortunes.  It’s rude.  And I can’t promise that I understand how this whole blogging thing works.  If I make mistakes please take pity on me.  [Look for my next post about how techn-awkward I am. It’s called “e-i-e-i Oh no.” For real.]

2011 just about did me in and I couldn’t wait for it to end.  But I have enjoyed 2012 so far, and I made some good resolutions.  Including this blog.  We’ll see how it turns out.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah in Small Doses

Why not read my blog and find out?

3 responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Michael Turner says :

    Peeing your pants is soooo twelve years ago.

  2. Kimberly Jewell says :

    You have always made me laugh Sarah. Being comedic comes as natural to you as the words you put together to make a powerful story. I love that you are doing this and I look forward to reading your future entries. This is the first official blog that I have ever read and yes it is because you are special! And that is NOT old news, it’s fact 🙂

  3. Amanda Sellergren says :

    I love that you’re blogging, Sarah! I love reading you witty remarks and you’re just funny naturally so no pressure at all. Funny or not, you thoughts are entertaining. It really does just seem to come naturally for you, I love it!!

Leave a Reply

